Labskausleben

January Light

I grabbed the large bright-yellow bag full of presents and headed out the door. The time had finally come: I was on my way to see you. I stopped by the grocery store inside of the train station. This was an activity that had become almost routine. I used to go shopping by the grocery store close to my house the night before visiting you, but picking them up right before getting on the train is so much nicer.

After picking up the groceries, I headed to the train platform, stopping for a coffee on the way. The train pulled into the station just as I was finishing the last few drops. I boarded the train and immediately mentally prepared for some sort of delay. A delay which, to my amazement, never came. We pulled out of the station exactly on time. I had originally planned to do some sort of project work while on the train, but ended up doing nothing of consequence. Perhaps because I hadn’t gone to bed early enough the night before and had only slept about six hours.

The stopover a few hours south went swimmingly. I didn’t even have to change platforms, as the train to which I was switching was leaving from the other side of the platform at which I had arrived. This was quite pleasant, and even though I would have gladly switched platforms, not having to carry the yellow bag of presents across the train station was nice. This train took me to the last train station on my route to you. From here I took a bus, and then one more bus, and then finally, roughly six hours after the beginning of my trip, I arrived in your town.

After making the short walk from the bus station to my apartment, I prepared for your arrival. I made sure the presents were prominently displayed and started a fire to make the apartment extra cozy. You arrived a little while later and immediately gave me a hug, which I admittedly received a bit awkwardly, if only because it was unexpected. I did not fully realize at the time that you were giving me a hug, but in retrospect, it is one of my favorite memories of our visit.

As soon as you entered my apartment, you saw the presents and your eyes lit up. I explained that one stack was from Santa for Christmas, and the other stack was for your birthday. I honestly don’t recall which stack you started with, but the unwrapping began immediately. You were excited about each and every present you received, at least that’s how it seemed to me. This made me so happy, as it had been hard to be unable to spend any time with you on Christmas or your birthday, and I wanted you to know that my mind and heart had been with you on those occasions. I hope I never have to miss a birthday or Christmas with you again. In the meantime, I will try to make the days we do have together as special and as meaningful as possible.

We spent the remainder of our time on the first day of our visit building two of your presents. You directed, organized, and carried out most of the work. I opened packaging, clarified build steps, and, occasionally, applied a sticker here or there. Before I knew it our time for the day was up. You wanted to take home one of the presents, a blue pickup truck, and soon you disappeared out the door, truck in hand.

Your first order of business after your arrival the next day was to check that the things you had left at my apartment were still there. Satisfied with your affirmative analysis, you then told me how you had taken the blue pickup truck to kindergarten to show your friends. After talking for a bit, you asked to watch Paw Patrol. We spent some time finding an episode that piqued your interest, and subsequently watched the famous rescue dogs do their thing. After which, we decided to go for a walk to the winter festival that was being set up in town.

You were our navigator as we made our way toward the park where the festival would be held. About midway through the walk, you asked to ride on my shoulders, a wish I enthusiastically granted. As we approached the festival site, we passed some motorcyclists whose vehicles you admired. I asked you some questions about some of them, which you gladly answered. The festival itself appeared not to have started yet, but there was a crêpe stand open, and I got you one filled with cinnamon and sugar. You rode my shoulders all the way back to my apartment, and just about half an hour later, it was time for you to go. We fist-bumped goodbye and you walked out the door.

#1